Sewage sludge disposal

In Germany approximately 2 million tons of sewage sludge on a basis of total solids (TS) are generated every year. The disposal of this huge amount of problematic material is elaborate and costly. According to a publication by the German Federal Environmental Agency (QUELLE!!) in 2010 about 30% of the sludge was distributed on agricultural land, 53% was incinerated by various means and around 17% was used in land filling.

The resulting costs are enormous: Total costs including mechanical dewatering and transportation are estimated in the range between 120€ and 375€ per ton(TS) are estimated for agricultural use and between 180€ and 400€ per ton(TS) for mono-incineration.

These high costs, especially for thermal utilization, are a direct result of the high water content due to inferior dewatering properties of the sludge, yielding a low heating value and high transportation volume. The cost structure is expected to aggravate over the next years, due to the fact that use of sewage sludge is prohibited in organic farming and a banning for conventional farming is under severe consideration. A total of 9 million tons (TS) per year of sewage sludge requires disposal throughout the European Union today.

The CS-HTC90™ technology by carbonSolutions is particularly suitable for the treatment of sewage sludge of all kinds. With our technology the sludge is transformed into coal slurry. In stark contrast to the original sludge this slurry can be dewatered purely mechanically and without using additives to a solid content up to 70%. After treatment with carbonPure the processed water is simply returned into the waste water treatment plant.

Advantages:

  • CS-HTC90™: sewage sludge treatment in 90 minutes only
  • Complete sterilization
  • Excellent dewater ability
  • Reduction to only a quarter of the original mass
  • Positive heating value
  • Easy to integrate into an existing waste water treatment facility
  • Small area footprint
  • Phosphate recovery still possible
  • Economically superior to alternative processes

Klärschlammentsorgung mit HTC

In Deutschland fallen pro Jahr ca. 2 Millionen Tonnen Klärschlamm (Trockensubstanz TS) an. Diese Klärschlämme müssen aufwendig und teuer entsorgt werden. Gemäß einer Veröffentlichung des Bundesumweltamtes wurden 2010 ca. 30 % der Menge auf landwirtschaftlichen Flächen ausgebracht, ca. 53 % in unterschiedlichen Anlagen verbrannt und ca. 17 % in den Landschaftsbau verbracht.

Die entstehenden Kosten sind dabei enorm: Die Gesamtkosten inkl. der Kosten für Entwässerung und Transport liegen zwischen 120 € und 375 € je Tonne TS bei der landwirtschaftlichen Ausbringung und zwischen 180 € und 400 € je Tonne TS bei der thermischen Klärschlamm-Monoverbrennung.

Die hohen Kosten, insbesondere bei der thermischen Verwertung, resultieren maßgeblich aus dem hohen Wassergehalt des Klärschlamms, seinem damit verbundenen geringen Heizwert und seinen sehr schlechten Entwässerungseigenschaften. Diese Kostenstruktur wird sich voraussichtlich in den nächsten Jahren noch verschärfen, da die Aufbringung von Klärschlamm auf Flächen des ökologischen Landbaus verboten ist und auch die Aufbringung auf andere landwirtschaftliche Flächen in der Diskussion steht. EU-weit müssen aktuell ca. 9 Millionen Tonnen (TS) Klärschlamm jährlich entsorgt werden.

Die CS-HTC90™-Anlage von carbonSolutions eignet sich hervorragend zur Behandlung von Klärschlämmen aller Art. Die Schlämme werden mit unserer Technologie in 90 Minuten in eine Kohleslurry umgewandelt, die sich, im Gegensatz zum ursprünglichen Schlamm, hervorragend, rein mechanisch und ohne Zusätze, auf ca. 70 % TS entwässern lässt. Das abgepresste Prozesswasser wird nach der Behandlung mit carbonPure™ einfach wieder der Kläranlage zugeführt.

Die Vorteile im Einzelnen:

  • CS-HTC90™: Klärschlammbehandlung in nur 90 Minuten
  • Hygienisierung des Klärschlamms aufgrund der Prozessparameter
  • Hervorragende Entwässerungseigenschaften der Kohleslurry
  • Reduktion der ursprünglichen Klärschlammmenge auf ca. ¼ Klärschlammkohle
  • „positiver“ Heizwert der Kohlepresslinge
  • Gute Integrierbarkeit der Anlage auf die Kläranlage
  • Geringer Flächenbedarf
  • Möglichkeit der Phosphatrückgewinnung bleibt erhalten
  • Wirtschaftliche Vorteile gegenüber herkömmlichen Verfahren